Thread: Help! Puppy has a hernia

Junior Member CaliforniaBoerboel's Avatar

Default Help! Puppy has a hernia

So i am getting my puppy in 4 days now and the breeder just informed me that he has an umbillical hernia from the mom pulling too hard when removing the umbillical cord. Does anybody have any experience with this happening to them? The breeder is being nice and is giving me $150 to have it removed when he is neutered but will that cover the cost? You can see the picture of the hernia on my pictures, ill upload it now. Thanks, CaliforniaBoerboel

Can't see pics? how bad is it California??

Well since i have no experience with this im not sure how bad it is yet. My daughter works at a no kill dog shelter and they get puppies occasionally and she said that for a puppy it seems to be pretty large. However she said that most times this shouldnt be anything to worry about. The breeder said that he could have it taken care of but since the pup is so little he might not make it out of anesthesia so he said he would give me $150 refund to have it taken care of when he gets neutered. Does anyone know if this would cover the cost because he also said that I can pick one of the brindle females that are left if i dont feel comfortable with following through with this.

Oh also im sorry i cant seem to figure out the whole picture thing. There are pictures of him at www.brownleesboerboels.com and he is the Green Boy.

I will have to look at the picture but will answer to the best of my ability for now.

In my opinion,